Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

Indian Engineering Services (IES) is the most preferred exam for graduate engineers for career opportunities in government departments’. It employs engineers to work under the Government and are designated as Class – 1 officer. They command a substantial part of the public sector economy that comprises Indian Railways, Power, Telecommunications, Central Water engineering, Defence service of Engineers, Central Engineering Service, NHAI, Naval Armaments, and IDSE, MES, Ordnance Factories, etc. The specific engineering branch and the Service or cadre recruited determines the work of these officials. 


Who conducts ESE?

UPSC conducts ESE annually to enlist engineers in four realms such as Civil, Mechanical, Electrical, Electronics & Telecommunications for the techno-managerial jobs. The examination consists of two-stages written exams succeeded by an interview. It is one of the most stringent tests in India due to fewer jobs and fierce competition. But IES officers bear tremendous honor and status, making it one of the most desirable government jobs for our country’s engineers.



A candidate must be either

  • An Indian citizen or
  • A resident of Nepal or Bhutan or
  • A Tibetan refugee who, before the 1st January 1962, came to India intending to permanently settle here or
  • An Indian origin person migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka or East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, and Ethiopia or from Vietnam to permanently settle in India.

Provided that a candidate belongs to categories (b), (c), and (d) above shall be a person in whose approval an eligibility certificate has been issued by the Indian Government.

Indian Engineering Services

Age Limits:

  • The candidate’s minimum age to appear in the ESE exam is 21 years, and he/she must not have attained the age of 30 years on the 1st January of the year in which the candidate is planning to appear for the exam.
  • The higher age limit of 30 years will be relaxable up to 35 years in the event of Government servants if they are in a Department/ Office beneath the administration of any of the authorizations and apply for admission to the examination for all or any of the Service (s)/Post(s) for which they are otherwise eligible.

Minimum Educational Qualifications

  • An engineering degree from a recognized University under the Act of the Central or State Legislature in India.
  • An engineering degree holder from any other Educational Institutions set up under an Act of Parliament or declared to be deemed as Universities u/s 3 of the UGC Act, 1956.
  • Engineering students who have cleared Sections A & B of the Institution Examinations of the Institution of Engineers (India).
  • Candidates who have secured an Engineering degree or diploma from a foreign University or College and Institution recognized by the Government of India.
  • Candidates who have cleared the Graduate Membership Exam of the Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers (India).
  • Candidates who have earned the Associate Membership Exam Parts II and III/Sections A and B of the Aeronautical Society of India.
  • Candidates who have cleared Graduate Membership Examination of the Institution of Electronics and Radio Engineers, London held after November 1959.
Indian Engineering Services

Exam Pattern

Applicants should ensure that they satisfy all the eligibility criteria and certification at all the examination stages. The ESE test shall be conducted according to the following plan: 

Stage-I: Preliminary Stage Examination (Objective Type Papers)

 Prelims are the screening test to qualify for the mains examination. The prelims exam is an objective type of paper. There will be two papers in the prelims exam: General Studies and the other is engineering paper (according to candidates choice – Mechanical, Electrical, Civil and Electronics, and Telecommunications).

Stage-II: Mains Examination (Written Type Papers)

Candidates who qualify for prelims can appear for the IES mains exam. There are two conventional papers based on the candidate’s engineering discipline in the IES mains exam – Mechanical, Electrical, Civil and Electronics, and Telecommunications. In the IES mains exam, UPSC tests the candidates’ engineering knowledge vigorously.

 Stage-III: Personality Test.

The Interview or Personality test is attended by only those candidates who qualify for the Mains examination.

IES Syllabus

The syllabus for the IES (Indian Engineering Services) exam is at the graduate level, with topics traversing the engineering syllabus. The syllabus is organized on the basis of the engineering branch the candidate is from, i.e., Civil, Mechanical, Electrical or Electronics & Telecommunication. The official syllabus can be downloaded from the UPSC website.

ESE Online Application Form 

Candidates who satisfy all the eligibility conditions should fill the online application form on UPSC’s official website – www.upsc.gov.in.

  • Go to ”Apply Online” and choose ”Online Application for Various Examinations.” 
  • Find the ESE online application form. 
  • Begin filling-up all the necessary details such as name, address, age, etc., in Part I registration. 
  • Under the Part-II registration, the documents such as photographs and signature should be uploaded.
  • Pay the application fee.
  • Submit the IES application form. Keep a hardcopy of the same for future reference.

IES Application Fee 

Candidates are required to pay Rs 200 as an application fee to successfully submit the application form. The fees can be paid either by cash or through an online payment. 

Female/ SC/ ST/ PH candidates are excused from the application fee. 

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

So this is the end of the post All you need to know about IES. Hope You Enjoyed it. Here are more Career Related Blog Posts.

Related Posts in -
Entrance Exam